Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Ilya Galkin

{Artist: Ilya Galkin}

My Lord is so kind.
I’ve been working on a project, an illustrating/handlettering set for friends. We went over and over different designs. Days were spent trying to perfect one concept after another, only for us to come to the end and decide that they weren’t right after all.

Time was running out yesterday afternoon. Schedules were packed, and  yet this important project was getting nowhere. One more design was set forward for drafting.

I started praying over it as I bent over my paper once again. ‘Lord, please, please, guide my pencil and help us find the right one soon…’

Rejoice evermore.

Pray continually.

 In all things, give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus toward you.”

-1 Thessalonians 16-18

Henriette Browne

artist: Henriette Browne

I was about a third done with the concept draft when plans were changed again. Time had run out: we were just going to settle for a ‘meh’ design that no one was particularly excited about.

“O.K.,” I replied, laughing to ease the stressed nerves between everyone. “No worries.”
Just for the sake of it, I sent a photo of the design I had been working on. “I’ll stop this and work on the  new one.”

“Wait. Hold on.”

Guess what? That prayed-over, last-resort design was EXACTLY what my friend had in mind originally.

 

We’d finally found the design. THE design. The one we were going to make official. We didn’t have to settle

Nervously, still praying “Oh, Lord, don’t let me mess this up now,” I went back to work on the remaining 2/3rds that had not yet been ‘invented’. I have a fairly loose designing technique sometimes: I just sketch randomly until I hit on what I like. Not this time. I tell you, the design flowed, and every element just appeared under my fingers– perfect.

And today I drew the opposite side. Again. Perfect on first try. I’m telling you, the Lord is wayyyy too kind to me.
Michael Dudash called He Shall Hear My Voice.

“He Shall Hear My Voice” by Michael Dudash

Another moral to the story: I don’t pray a quarter as much as I ought.

Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.
Philippians 4:6

