Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

sugar cookiesIMG_5670Growing up, I always loved those little spritz cookies that you punched out and sprinkled with colored sugar. When we went gluten free seven years ago, I missed them a lot.
But then I decided to make sugar-cookies from a new recipe I found from a 2010 Taste of Home magazine. I tweaked them a little and made them gluten-free, and upon tasting them I realized that they reminded me so much of the spritz I loved growing up! Light and buttery and melt-in your mouth; crisp and yet soft; crumbly and yet chewy.IMG_5674

The dough is a lot of fun to work with, too. It’s like play-dough, and the kids loved making their own cookies. They twisted and sculpted and moulded, and the cookies held their shape all through the cooking process (they don’t expand like a lot of sugar cookies do)! I haven’t tried using cookie-cutters with these, but if you do, let me know how it works. 🙂IMG_5675

The first time I made them was when a young friend named Jackson was visiting– and the cookies were thus christened Jackson Cookies.

This is a great yearly tradition– even if you don’t have children around. There are so many ways you can make these!

Jackson Cookies

yield: about 3 dozen 

1 cup butter

1 cup powdered sugar

1 egg

1 1/2 to 2 tsp almond extract

2 1/2 cup gluten-free mix or rice flour

1 tsp salt

food coloring of choice

1/4-1/2 cup sugar (for sprinkling– optional)

Instructions

In a small bowl, cream butter and powdered sugar until light and fluffy.

Beat in egg and almond extract. In separate bowl, combine flour and salt; gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well.

Divide dough in half (or into however many different colors you want). Color the balls as desired.

Now mold, sculpt, squish, and combine the dough as desired to make your cookies. Place on ungreased baking sheets. Bake at 375f for 9-12 minutes or until lightly browned.

Immediately sprinkle with sugar (optional). Cool for 2 minutes before transferring from pans to wire cooling racks.

sugar cookies

Check out my other recipes on the Songbird’s Pencil!

Paleo lemon bars

gluten free, dairy free, sugar free chocolate cake

Gluten free, sugar free banana bread

 

